A Rocky Start, Blog #4: Choosing a Home for the Particles

Confession:  Three months ago, I had no idea what Etsy was.

I’d never even heard the name.

I’m not even sure how I first learned of it, but after I figured out what Etsy was, I got very excited.  Not only was this a potential place to sell my wares, but it was the coolest shopping place I’d been in since…since…since…well, it may just be the very coolest shopping site I’ve ever been to.  I wish I had some (any!) disposable income at the moment, for I have a very strong inkling I’d be spending the vast majority of it on Etsy wares.

As a seller, it also excited me, as it was cheaper and prettier to look at than Ebay, and it had that nice “homespun” vibe that gives the place its oeuvre.  I just spent 12 years living in a place where “handmade” and “sustainable” were everyday bywords on the street, so this kind of atmosphere felt very homey to me.

Now, you may wonder why I was comparing Ebay to Etsy.  Well, as an online seller, I had only my direct-with-the-buyer experiences (from posting things to specific mailing lists) and my years of Ebay experience to go on.  I had actually seen a couple of wonderful artisans doing really well with bead-strung jewelry on Ebay.  Here are a couple of examples that made me believe I could do this myself:

http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Stone-Savvy – Another gemstone artisan like myself, but man, does she have a good eye for design!

http://shop.ebay.com/merchant/robintheraven – She has a very specific “brand” in her style, and it really works for her.  This is a good model for jewelry-makers, IMO.

You can check out a seller’s “completed listings” to see how well they’re selling.

Now, your first reaction may be:  “But they could get more money on Etsy!”

And that may be true–RobintheRaven sells her items under value, IMO, although as she builds a reputation, her auction prices may go up accordingly.  And Stone-Savvy was selling necklaces in the $30-40 range when I found her in January.  Then in February, a fluorite necklace of hers bid up to over $80–and the rest of her prices went up accordingly.  So Ebay isn’t all about “cheap,” depending on what you sell and how well you’ve established your reputation.

So why did I choose Etsy instead?

Truthfully, I haven’t given up on the notion that I may still sell some of my jewelry on Ebay or elsewhere someday, and I fully intend to have my own dot-com biz once my kids are both in school.  But for now, Etsy is my shop home.  Here are my main reasons:

Reason #1:  Price

Yes, Etsy is cheaper.  For startup businesses, this is important.  The cost is somewhat offset by the amount of time most sellers have to spend in marketing (especially the vastly oversaturated Etsy horde of jewelry artisans…alas!), so I suppose the question one has to ask oneself is whether it’s more important to save time or money.  Ebay sellers need little marketing to get their product found, although–and this is a big but–they also don’t get the typical “handmade item buyer” who will frequent Etsy.  Typical Ebay buyers simply don’t tend to value the special-ness of handmade items as much as Etsy buyers might.  Which kind of ties in with…

Reason #2:  Layout

The shop pages on Etsy are clean and attractive and easy to navigate.  To be sure, you have to design a good shop banner and work hard on taking good “Etsy-worthy” photographs, but those are good skills for a craft-business owner to have anyway, right?  Ebay is messy and cheap-looking no matter how nicely you design your store.  And honestly?  I didn’t go with Artfire because I find their layout confusing and artistically hodge-podgy.  Whoever works on Etsy’s layout and branding has a good thing goin’ on.

Reason #3:  Community

This is probably the #1 reason to sell Etsy for most folks:  It really is entering into a community.  Not only can you get e-mail newsletters on featured sellers, promotion, shop improvements, tech issues, and everything else you can imagine, but you have at your disposal an incredibly thriving forum community where a good number of the 100,000+ Etsy sellers communicate about various issues.  Like any online “family,” there are some disagreements from time to time, but generally, everyone maintains their civility, if not resorting to downright warmth.  If touchy-feely isn’t your cup of tea, you can still sell on Etsy and not take part in the community.  But for me, it reminds me I’m not dealing with a corporation, which is always a good thing.

Reason #4:  Ease

I still question whether Etsy is the right place for my items.  It seems that any jewelry that isn’t trendy or Victorian or steampunk by nature tends to struggle for sales.  (Sooner or later I hope to have enough knowledge to write a “Where to sell your wares” blog…but not yet.)  Which means, of course, that I have to go off-site to fish for people to come buy my items.  I won’t say Etsy is easy when it comes to marketing–far from it (this is a whole blog unto itself–watch for it).  But any new business that needs to grow into its potential requires marketing, and keeping my shop at Etsy is still easier than starting my own dot-com and having to deal with my own page layout, shopping cart, payments, and what-not.  That day will come, but for now, I’m just as glad to park my Particles at Etsy and let them handle the grunt work.  I’ll handle the beads.

Reason #5:  I just like the place!

It truly bothers me that Etsy isn’t a household name, that I had to start researching my startup business idea to even find it, and then only tangentially–not because it ranks high in Google searches or gets passed word-of-mouse on Digg or Facebook.  These truths disturb me greatly, not just because I want the benefit of selling on a high-profile site, but because everyone needs to know about this great shopping opportunity!  I have a feeling that, even if I choose to move my shop elsewhere in the future, I will remain an active member of the Etsy forums, and I will still link to Etsy sellers on Twitter and Facebook and my forums whenever I can.  It’s an initiative I believe in, and I hope that they can manage to keep abreast of their amazing growth that is sure to come.

I’ll add one more note about Artfire and other artisan-love sites:  I don’t know enough about them to fully appreciate them yet, but I’m sure that when I’m in the market to shop once more, I may even strike out beyond the borders of Etsy-land and take full advantage of all the opportunities that abound for those who love handmade.  In the meantime, I’ll be over at Etsy…come visit sometime.

E-mail me with questions, tales to share, LOLCats, or whatever strikes your fancy.  I’ll see you next time with Yet Another Exciting Episode of….JoolryNoob!

2 comments so far

  1. cat on

    so glad you found Etsy 🙂 I’ve tried a couple of other venues and they didn’t compare

  2. Ideam on

    Great post!


Leave a Reply

