So many beads, so little brains

The Place:  Treasures of the Earth Gem, Mineral and Jewelry Show, Salem, Virginia

The Time:  My first at a bead trade show

The Purpose:  To Learn.  And…to buy a lotta beads.

Well, I accomplished both purposes, though not to my complete satisfaction.  As usual, the Noob could have done things better.  But hey–that’s what writes my blog, right?  So in the spirit of Sifting the Particles, I present to you, my readers, my Mistakes & Lessons from my first bead show:

1.  Scope out the possibilities first.

This was not a huge trade show, and it was a pretty even split between rock & mineral folks, jewelry folks, and bead folks.  Of the dozen or so huge tables in the arena, five were selling beads as at least 50% of their inventory.  I looked at one table briefly, decided I’d come back to it later, and then at the second, I spent 80% of my cash.

This turned out to be not too bad–I probably would have spent the majority of my money there in any case.  I just wish it hadn’t been such a large amount–there are a few things I wouldn’t have bought if I’d checked out the other three bead-sellers first.  There were also a few beads I was specifically looking for and wasn’t able to buy because these folks didn’t have them.  In the end, I bought from four of the five major bead hawkers, but I still wish I’d bought a few things from the fifth as well.

2.  Don’t forget to check quality.

I started out very good–I checked the bead strings for inclusions and clarity, for nicely-drilled, straight holes, for chips and chunks at the drilling point–all those things that make me groan when I receive an unsatisfactory web order.  But as time went on, I think I got a sort of “bead fatigue” and ended up not checking things carefully at the last table I bought from.  I brought home some Ocean Jasper beads that I won’t be able to use in my shop wares (though most of the strand is still okay).  Alas!  Next time, I think I will keep a little pad in my hand with all the things I should look at jotted down in a checklist–and force myself to check the list before I pay!

3.  Don’t forget to soft-market.

I was so enwrapt in the beads that I forgot that I was also trying to network and get my product name out there among other tradespeople.  I should have been making chit-chat with the sellers, browsing non-bead tables (and to my credit, I did do this–bought a couple gorgeous crystals and a polished obsidian stone), and finding ways to bring up my craft without seeming too obvious.  One thing I could have done is to show folks the unakite and red tiger eye bracelet I was wearing and say, “Do you have any beads like these?” (I was genuinely looking for more).  Might have spurred a conversaion and a request for a business card.  In fact, the folks I spent the most money from did strike up a conversation with me as they tallied up my purchase (it took a while!) and they did, in the end, ask me for a business card!  How thrilling!

Too bad I’d forgotten to get them from my husband, who still had them in his car.  😦

4.  Take your time!

All my mistakes can probably be chalked up to the fact that I zoomed through the show as if my hair were on fire, instead of realizing I had the entire afternoon and making it a slow, lazy process.  I chalk it up to first-timers’ giddiness.  (And the fact that, as a mom, I’m completely unused to having a lot of time to myself to use as I please–I’m accustomed to doing everything as quickly as possible.)  Next time, I will make an all-day event of it and use every moment wisely.

I will have another chance, when the same show comes to my town in November.  Better start saving my money now… that paltry $400 I took with me this time went entirely too fast!

I did, however, get some gorgeous finds–some unusually-shaped Ocean Jasper, some Rhyolite (finally!  and boy, do I wish I could afford more!), my first strand of red Carnelian and my first strand of faceted stone beads, my first real Turquoise and some funky Smoky Quartz, among many others.  My sister also gave me an old 3-drawer storage unit that was originally a store display for DMC embroidery thread.  Woot!  Now I have someplace to put all my new goodies.

I’d better get to work with the new beads.  In the meantime, leave comments, suggestions, implications, alliterations, altercations, interrogations, and math equations below…or e-mail me at particlesofstone at yahoo dot com.  Cheers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

